God – what a sense of humor

If you saw my earlier post, Religion – don’t be fooled by the title, you know how I feel about making reference to a quite an unfathomable concept. Having said that… 🙂

God has quite the sense of humor. People that know me would use words such as affable, friendly, kind, caring, nice, and other positive people-oriented type descriptors for me.

Truth is, I hate people 😀

Not really, but kind of. I love me the me time. That means time away from others. I am a lot like my father was in that regard.

Ramon loved him an audience from time to time. He would hold court every time we had a family gathering on either side of the family. I have over 40 cousins on both sides, so Ramon had plenty of people to entertain with his wisdom, wit, charm, humor, and humility. (Yup, I’m a chip off the old block.)

😀

Consistently, however, around the 2 hour mark he’d give my mom some non-verbal sign that it was time to go home. As much as Ramon loved to talk and amuse people with his Ramon-ness, he really preferred being home, reading quietly in one room or another.

People suck anyways 🙂

Not really, but yes. I shall digress for a moment.

I understand that “I’m sorry,” is a social formality we say from time to time for often minor, sometimes more than minor, missteps of one kind or other.

F*** that. Sorry means you didn’t care to think in the first place. Shut up and go away.

I do enjoy the company of others, and appreciate that others seem to actually enjoy my company. Just seems so ironic to me that if no one called me and asked to hang out again -ever, I am very okay with that.

That’s one thing I very much admire about couples, the willingness to sacrifice self for the sake of another. And having children! That’s an almost complete relinquishing of individuality.

I am starting to feel selfish, but not really.

I am quite giving and supportive of others (read Emotional Trauma, extreme, but illustrative of that point) you really don’t have to look hard to help make things better, and not suck, for the people around you and yourself.

There’s a lot of suck out there.

Maybe that’s a beef I have with people in general. So many people think just about themself and not look at the big picture.

Have you heard of the huge island of plastic that’s floating in the ocean? Recycle people; not that hard!

That’s another thing I find ironic about myself. Something that makes me a “people person” is I understand; I get a lot of different personality types and behaviors. Part of that is the variety of unique experiences I had growing up. Part is my education. Part is my professional experiences. But, I think a big part is I was programmed at birth, by the genes I inherited, to be a people person.

God, that joker.

I know my view of the world, and even my view of myself, is not the most accurate in terms of what is the truth. But I like my view 🙂

One of the things I do like when interacting with other people is that I believe those interactions also to a degree reflect who I am.

(OMG, children bowed to me reverently last week. SMH. Eh, they are children. They don’t know of my suckness.)

Even strangers. I love making eye contact with people in the store or street, especially when it seems they are not having a particularly good day. I smile, sometimes nod, and hopefully signal to them that all is not bad and lost. When they smile back, that makes my day. When that cold, or hurt, or angry, or whatever negative expression remains – makes me remember.

There’s a lot of suck out there.

People – fun suckers

Well the weather sucks too, sometimes. Please read, Pain, if you haven’t. Quite the gem of a comment I make about my feelings regarding the weather. 🙂

Well, thank you, again. Hope you all enjoyed.

TCCIC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God – what a sense of humor

  1. Camille says:

    I still look for your dad at family gatherings. Funny but the last time I looked, I saw you. It made me smile. Btw the signal was a very loud, “well…” ;D

Leave a Reply

