What we see

A parent thanked me recently for being inspirational to the students, adding that I seemed to be the only positive person on staff.

Those comments actually alarmed me.

Another parent thanked me the other day for being patient, and giving her student constructive feedback, so the student could do better.

Really? What the heck is going on out there?!

Last year two students started in the program I have been working in. They had SLIGHTLY similar physical attributes, but so many qualities that differentiated them easily, to me the staff for MONTHS kept calling one by the other’s name. I got it right immediately. Those students thanked me recently.

For learning their names?! wtf!

Perceptions are very personal. I was alarmed that a parent would perceive my coworkers attitudes and behaviors in such contrast with mine. I wouldn’t call that parent’s perception inaccurate, some of the people I work with some people who should not work with children, but to come to that conclusion on a once a week, or so, interaction with staff is a little alarming.

I think I am overthinking the second parent’s comment. She and her daughter were fearful, ending one program and beginning another. New campus, new students, new teachers. Scary stuff.

Transitions are the most difficult thing we are deal with in life. In teaching, they are critical, as they severely impact the information we are hoping students will program into their long term memory, and later utilize that information. Planning and guiding students through new routines and structuring transitions early in a school year will help both teacher and students throughout the year.

Your welcome! 🙂

That some teachers don’t learn their students’ names blows my mind away. I always think of my time as a catechist, and how through the years one of the selling points of Christianity (and I think this is true of the other Monotheistic religions) is that God has called you by Name.

Much easier to address an individual, and make an appropriate remark, directly to THEM, if you know their name.

I was thinking of another student how recently thanked me after they were able to accomplish a series of activities that I asked them to do. They said my simple directions helped them get the task(s) done.

Thinking for a moment that something must be in the water these kids are drinking, so many polite – thankful students, and then I realized it’s me!

😀

I do consistently model thankfulness when they do as I ask; I speak in polite terms and demonstrate patience as a rule. I expect them to achieve what I ask. Why not be the most supportive person in their endeavor?

All that, and more, however, is in large part a function of my personality. We want less suck in the world. Helping others do stuff, and do stuff the right way goes a long way in making sure, in the future, less sucky people are out there.

You’re Welcome!

I guess it goes back to a comment I made several days ago about “getting people.”

So when I was little, 9-10, my mom or dad felt comfortable enough with my skills at “reading” people, mom or dad would take a bathroom break.

We had two spaces at a swap meet, one near the entrance – one near the snack bar, every weekend, FOR YEARS!

Don’t want to talk about THAT now 😀

I was taught behaviors of people that were just browsing, behaviors of people that wanted to buy something, and the behaviors of people that wanted to JACK me. Some of those behaviors are obvious, some very subtle.

Those lessons combined with others mom and dad sprinkled throughout my life really made me being a “people person” a fait accompli. And they each had a unique view of the world, so a lot of perspective was poured into me.

I was talking to a couple of students I don’t know very well, they are not mine. After several minutes, one asked me to guess what grade she was in. She was rather tall, articulate, had an air of maturity. “Sophomore,” I said. “Darn,” she responded. “Most people think I’m a senior!” *scrunchy face*

I told her why I thought most people would think that, but that the eyes of a 14-15 year old are typically much different than the eyes of a 17-18 year old.

I’d be interested if anyone knows of research regarding a person’s gaze. How we can “feel” when we a being watched. Is there any evidence that our gaze haze a measurable, physical property?

Well thank you, 5 people or so that are reading. Tell a friend. Maybe recommend an editor, another blogger with dream of compiling it into a book!

😀

See y’all tomorrow!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What we see

  1. Jackie Kehoe says:

    👍😊

Leave a Reply

