Young Humans

I know this guy. He’s been involved with pagentry for over 40 years as an instructor. That’s what he sometimes calls the young people. Young humans.

He was an instructor of mine, in my youth. It was funny when I met him again a dozen or so years ago, as I joined an instructional staff of a youth organization he was also a part of. He asked me if I had participated in the activity I would be instructing. I told I had indeed, 5 years. He asked which organization I had been with. When I tolld him which organization, he was shocked. He told me he had been an instructor there, at that same time. How come he didn’t remember me? I told him that was on purpose on my part. I didn’t want him to know who I was.

Sometimes, you want to be invisible.

Just had a mini epiphany.

Among the many struggles young humans have growing up, they are searching for who they are in the world. In the world of pagentry, as an instructor, you want them to all look the same. Ironic that a young person, seeking an individual identity would also participate in an activity where they could also become invisible 🙂

After a rehearsal last Friday and before a football game, I went to get some food across the street from the school. A student got behind me in line. When I saw her I suddenly realized something. In the previous hour and a half, I had not noticed her once.

I told her that. She smiled. Then I asked her if she understood what that meant. Her smile grew bigger and she nodded her head with a good degree of happiness. I had told the group I had been rehearsing with earlier, during their summer camp, the story of the old instructor that didn’t remember me.

I know an amazing group of young people. I work with an amazing group of adults that have dedicated themselves to making the experiences of these young people to be as positive as possible.

It is so simple, to me, to always be positive and to know what needs to be done, and how to do it. I understand why so many struggle to make it through each day. I’ve chosen to keep my life simple. Most people want more. Often that involves pro-creation. That’s never been a goal of mine, but I’m not against practicing.

🙂

Bless all those who choose to give of themselves and have young humans. No other human endeavor is as noble. To give life, to nurture life, to give the world hope that maybe the next generation will do things right, and fix what we see as wrong in the world.

That’s why I’m always so positive. Young humans represent hope. The people that help and support young humans in constructive activites are a sign that we believe in them, and each other, and that is an unspoken blessing.

Amen. I believe. We need to take a step back once in a while and reflect what it is we believe. It directly impacts our actions, or inactions. Sometimes we get so busy “living” our life, we forget what the point is.

For me, life is to make things a little better each day and hope in the end it is. I work with young people and hope they are a little better each day and that they carry those lessons with them and help others be better too.

Amen. I believe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

