My Best Friend

I have a best friend. Actually I have two best friends; this is about the female one. When I decided she was my best friend, I am not sure, but it was more about her influencing that decision than me making it. As all women should have that kind of effect on the men in their lives. She has a different best friend that I have only met once πŸ™‚

One of the reasons I love her so much is we eat ice cream for lunch! πŸ˜€ Okay, that only happened one time.

I totally misread the text exchange we had that morning. She wanted to get lunch but I wasn’t available that day until 3pm. I skipped lunch and she ate before we got together and then peer pressured me into having ice cream for my lunch. We were at Farrell’s and I was looking at the food part of the menu and she asked me, kid you not, if I was going to “man up” and order a sundae.

Don’t you love that?! I’ll have to add ice cream sundae to my Man Food Pinboard.

Pinterest. Oh, I don’t want to get started on that. Not today anyways πŸ™‚ For the record, I am a pinner. I have about 2,300 pins.

My buddy has an amazing number of qualities that I love. When I met her four years ago, she was a cute young lady. Sometime shortly after, she transitioned to a pretty young woman. She’s borderline beautiful now, and I suspect as she ages, she is going to become drop dead gorgeous.

About a year and a half ago we met for lunch (and ate REAL food.) I was early, as usual and brought reading material. The restaurant was crowded and people would frequently stop by my table to let other people pass, and then continue on their way. A woman stops at my table and is standing there an unusually long time. I finally look up and my breath is literally taken away. It’s my friend, with hair and makeup done up and wearing a beautiful dress.

She had been a t-shirt and jeans all the time kind of gal up until that point. I remember at the time she told me she had recently gone shopping and added a lot of professional looking clothes to her wardrobe. She’s still the kind of lady you’d want on your softball or kickball team, but when she wants to dress up, she’ll knock you out πŸ˜€

Honestly, she’s always been beautiful. She has a great spirit. She has a warm smile and an easy laugh. She would do well in public relations. She’s a people oriented person. Her use of non-verbals in her communication is extremely effective, entertaining, and definitely an extension of her personality. That’s the most attractive thing about, next to her intelligence.

She’s a very smart person, very self-reflective. Always thinking, examining, analyzing herself and the situations she finds herself in, and her perceptions of those situations. She’s a very unassuming person. I thoroughly enjoy our conversations and we can, and have, talked for hours. Six hours is our record, so far πŸ˜€

She tells me what she’s thinking and how she’s feeling. I know at times she feels like she burdens me with that, particularly lately as she has begun a new career. But truth is I really do honor and appreciate that she trusts to share with me.

It may not seem like it to her, but at least around me she always has a positive, I got this, kind of attitude. Who wouldn’t love a person like that?! πŸ™‚

Her sense of humor is very much akin to mine. Enough said there.

She has a boyfriend, whom she loves very much. They’ve been together about three years now. She’s put a lot of work into him. Most guys are trainable. He seems to be one of those guys. He is making consistent progress. She’s very patient and sees his potential.

That reminds me of a quick, little story. I was watching the news the other day and they were talking about past lottery winners of over 100 million dollars. They showed a video of a man who several months ago was receiving his check at a news conference. When asked afterwards what he was going to do with his money, his response was immediate. I’ve been married 42 years, he said, I know exactly what to do with this check, and promptly handed it to his wife.

Well trained πŸ˜€

Well, I*ll be really busy these next couple of days, but I will post late in the day. Hope you are enjoying today as much as you can. Thank you for reading and see you soon. Share with your friends!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Best Friend

  1. heather says:

    Awesome story can you notify me
    Kidding

Leave a Reply

