It Gets Better Version 20.13

Workshop number two was yesterday. I showed up early and do what I do, lining the field โ€“ threw down gaks – painted some sets. I was going to put the horn line back on the circles like workshop #1, but changed my mind and put them on the sets that I had designed for the battery, and put battery on the circles. It turned out a lot better. I liked watching the battery move in the curvilinear and liked watching the horns do mini-drill. The field I painted was WAY better too than workshop #1! ๐Ÿ˜€ The last workshop, I eye- balled the lines. I forgot my string and stick. My pace size was consistent, though, andย I could see with accurate measurement I was only off 6 inches after a hundred and 60 feet from front sideline to back sideline. But like I tell the kids, you get better because that’s how you get stuff done ๐Ÿ˜€

This ensemble has a long way to go, but I like where we are starting. We are back at Huntington Marina HS. I think weโ€™ll get more local kids this year; although a surprising number are coming from one school at the end of the 57 on the 210 end, and I met a few already that are coming from the desert. Beno magic is still working for us out there. I am noticing too lots of smart kids, their general awareness is slightly higher at this point this year than in years past. I like smart kids ๐Ÿ˜€ I like smart people ๐Ÿ˜€ All sections will be larger this year than last year and there is an even distribution of smartness, although I am anticipating the battery to be ahead of the horns the first few months. I will address that issue with the horn line during auditions.

I talked with battery about it already. It’s because of WGI. The battery kids get that much more rehearsal time, reps, performances. They are a more experienced group of kids because they get to drum in front of people more than the horns get to play and move in front of people.

I wasn’t happy with the vizh block during the time I was running it because I always expect them to do exactly as I ask and nothing less. Afterwards I realized every rep was better, every comment I made they responded positively. It got better, they got better. In the end that is all I expect. I have not detailed a lot of anything yet. I want them to move and see how quickly they figure things out. Speaking of, I noticed more kids looked more comfortable yesterday than workshop #1. That is a good sign for us and them ๐Ÿ˜€

Moms showed up at lunchtime and brought meatball sandwiches, chips, juices, and cupcakes and cookies! ๐Ÿ˜€ Love the moms! I forgot they had said that I last time we were together. I was sitting in my car eating the fruit cup that I had brought when one of the dads came over and asked if I was going to get a sandwich. I told him I wasnโ€™t planning on it, leave them for the kids. I was informed that one was waiting for me.

As I am making my way over, two of the best parents are manning the food table; awesome dad1 is packing meatballs in a roll on a plate and hands it to me. Awesome mom1 is stuffing goodness into the sandwich and rookie mom hands me a juice and chips ๐Ÿ˜€ Itโ€™s like being 12 years old all over again with these people sometimes ๐Ÿ˜€ I declined the cookies and cupcakes. I man has to know his limitations!

All the sectionals looked and sounded good. I rotated every few minutes from section to sections, talking with some of the instructors not instructing and observing with them our performance and the kidsโ€™ performance. A few rookies were already looking outstanding. We will have strong leadeship from some of our rookies this like we did last year. The staff were all excited during their sectionals. I am excited. We have a lot of work to do, but we also have a lot to look forward too! All the kids seemed excited at the end of the day.

A was a little disappointed that some people that expressed an interest were not here today. I said something bad, in a joking manner, about them. I will clarify those remarks next time I see them. They laughed when I said it, so they knew I was joking, I want to make sure they understand the motivation for some of my humor. Itโ€™s all good.

Now that we are getting to the nitty gritty with who is going to be in the battery, I am excited that I get to know my brass people better during auditions. Like I said before, not a lot of detailing early since a large chuck of the kids coming out for the battery are going to disappear during auditions. I did talk to one snare hopeful that quickly added he plays mellophone also ๐Ÿ˜€ Cool, he drank the Impulse Kool-Aid. Oh yeah. I donโ€™t know if they understand that expression either. I do use it from time to time.

I was noticing earlier when I spoke with and watched our color guard lady that she seemed more girly than I remember the last time I saw her. When I had the chance at the end of the day, I made that comment to her and asked what she has been doing different to change her appearance. She told she had lost 15 lbs! I was like, oh damn! I told her she went up a few notches on the โ€œhawtโ€ meter. She blushed and said that remark made her day ๐Ÿ˜€

Oh yeah, so the kids are hyping on the sexy beast remark I made last time, and I am going to use it every time, because I honestly mean it. I want the word on the street that Impulse is a maker of sexy beasts!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

