Impulse Tour 2003 Part 2

July 28th Greenville, MI (20 mile NE of Grand Rapids) Monday
Vianca gave Byron a Golden Ticket ๐Ÿ˜€ (?) 20 plus 18 equals 38! ๐Ÿ˜€ Horn line vets had a meeting with the rest of the horn line earlier, talking about hierarchy. Blue Star came by and played their show for us. We did the same for them. I was feeling a little burned out earlier. I tried to take a nap during the music block but Dave I kept bothering me with stuff he was looking at online. Why the hell was he not in sectionals. So many techs such a waste so far. Stacey has called me mysterious twice today. Whatever. Ice cream treats for the kids tonight. I got one. Fatty, fat, fat, fat, chubby guy ๐Ÿ˜€ There were even a few extras, kids got those ๐Ÿ˜€ Charlie and Phyllis went into town tonight. He asked me to start putting up the schedule for the next day. Charlie really likes his time away ffrom the corps; who doesnโ€™t. I was going to tell Tony something earlier and now I completely forgot. Whatever. Other than me spacing out a couple of times today, rehearsal went well. Kids are getting used to being on the road. I think Ike, I mean Norman hehehehe, is getting a little frustrated with some of the music issues. Thatโ€™s good. I am assuming that is because he cares. Kids are still playing around 20 minutes after lights out. They went out at 12AM. I really donโ€™t care, but if it becomes an issue tomorrow with people dragging around that will suck. I will turn in around 1AM, hopefully they will all be asleep by then. The woods around this school are AWESOME!!! Robert just moved his stuff closer to Tony. I can hear them talking about spontaneous erections. Really? Isnโ€™t that like junior high stuff?!! Wth

July 29th Greenville, MI Tuesday
Woke up with the kids. I usually get up before them. Gah! Staff drama. Where the heck is the food truck?

Just got back from Huckleberryโ€™s ๐Ÿ˜€ Had me some garlic shrimp, salad, baked potato, and a BIG HUCKER ๐Ÿ˜€ (?) Dan is painting an Impulse sign for the horn bus. I fell asleep today for half an hour in one of the closets in the band room. Just trying to get away from everyone for awhile. Blue Star was still singing on the field when we got back. Victor went to check it out. Chad, Stacey, and Karla are reworking the โ€œbookโ€ prop. Looks awesome. Called home. 2AM guess it is time to sleep ๐Ÿ˜€ Oh yeah, Thank You Nathan (?)

July 30th Greenville, MI Wednesday
SHOW DAY!!!! Impulse McMuffins for the kids this morning ๐Ÿ˜€ The high school kids came out and watched a bop run through before lunch. So many immature and inexperienced performers in this group, and the vets are too nice. We should break 90 this season, not tonight, but sometime before Orlando. Anything close would be great too. I like donuts (randomness) Hey Tony, I thought only old people spit when they talked. GAAAAHHHH!!!! NEVER LEAVE SHOW STUFF ON THE BUS!!!!!!!

SHOW DAY!!!! Got a 83.5, Rev 84.5, Blue Star 84.75 had cheese pizza and chips at the show, and two Gatorades. Called home after the show, I think I sounded burned out. Talked to Margaret (ex) I could heare Oceanโ€™s Eleven in the background. Of course everyone fell asleep right away when we got back to the school. I thought they did an okay show, not to the level of their performance ability, so far. I took another nap during the music block today. I went to sleep at 2AM and was up at 7AM, naps are good ๐Ÿ˜€ The high school kids watched rehearsal all day and they were all at the show tonight. Nice kids ๐Ÿ˜€ Charlie asked me to organize the kids when we have cabins in TN. I got busy doing that and spaced getting water for the kids before the show. TICK!!!!

July 31st Scottsburg, Indiana Thursday
Went to CVS. I am falling asleep ๐Ÿ˜€ Nice and humid. Got me a dove bar, mmmmmm. Sleeping in the hallway because it is cooler. The custodian guy hooked me, the corps up with a key to the room with an ice machine ๐Ÿ˜€

Louisville, KY
SHOW DAY!!!! 83.95 Whatever. New panel of judges, cold read. We are where we want these kids to be rehearsal-wise. Ice from custodian guy and ice from the concession people was very much appreciated. We are getting on highway 65 and heading South. I am listening to tapes. What are you talking about time and space?! SAY INTERVAL PROBLEMS!!!! Masking? Fog? SAY CLARITY OF FORM PROBLEMS!!!! Ftg Get me out of KY!!!

August 1st Friday
We are somewhere past the KY/TN border. On our way to Chattanooga, TN. I was thinking about my dad right now for the first time in a long time. I had a few tears. (He died June 30th at the beginning of this summer) I think I am going to sit here for a few minutes and just think.

Since we left last night there has been scattered lightning across the sky, very dramatic, very high up, little to no thunder. Starting to rain now. All the bad weather, so far, has been while we are travelling. We have been very lucky.

Cabin Drama. Mike B dropped the ball in making arrangements with the other corps we are sharing the facility with. We figured it out and made it work. We are going to be in and out of here anyway. No field, but the kids are going to have some sectional time later. Calling these things cabins anyway is too generous. Ernie called them plantation cabins (they only had three walls) This campground in right next to Chickamauga Lake/Dam, and the TN River OOOOOO AAAAAHHHHH ๐Ÿ˜€ CVS, Sonic Burger, and Arbyโ€™s rule in S. Indiana, KY, TN Country sized rain drops are falling now. John (bus driver) is lost we keep going in circles. YAY!! We are here! (show site)

Chattanooga
83.45, Rev 81 something. Two more show then prelims. Need to max this gig before we hit Orlando! FREE THE TORTILLAS!!!!

August 2nd Valdosta, GA Monday
KOOKARACHAS!!!!!! AAAAYYYYYYEEEEE!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

