Monrovia – Glendora: part 2

Enjoying my life, 15 years removed from my time as a performer in the marching arts, a friend asks me why I never go to any drums corps shows. Contining, he’s like, you were really into it and you would basically disappear four months out of the year for 5 years. My answer was, been there, done that, moved on. Basically, he wanted me to take him to a drum corps show (no Big, Loud, Live back in the day) I find a show and take him. At the show, one of the groups I see is not very good, and I notice a lot of their staff are people I knew from when we did the same thing. I go to a few rehearsals before they leave for tour and see many reasons the product appeared as it did. I tell management I am willing to help out if they are interested. I have a unique set of skills, and given the opportunity can make a significant positive impact.

First year with the group, make championships for the first time. Next two years, top 5, breaking 90’s (scores). Of course it wasn’t all me, but one person can make a big difference 😀

Second year, I meet this woman, beautiful in everyway. She comes out to volunteer for a few rehearsals and a camp. We go off to a coffee place during that one camp and spend 4 hours in very interesting and intense conversation. She became and has been one of the best friends ever. Saw her recently, and the conversations actually keep getting better 😀

Third year with that group, I am visual captionhead. I ask my lady friend to be on staff, but she has too many commitments to participate in any significant way. Later in the season as we prepare to leave for tour, turns out none of my techs are able to go on the road. Another staff member mentions to me a guy he worked with, from the East coast, but living out West now. I have that guy come out. He works out alright, and we have a great tour.

Next year, my life gets too complicated. I resign, and suggest my new East/West coast friend for the caption position. He gets it. My lady friend contacts me; commitments have changed for her and now she’s looking to get involved with the marching arts again. I contact the director and give him her information. East/West coast friend contacts me about the info the director gave him about my friend. Who is she? Should she be on his staff? I tell him shut up, let her do whatever she wants 😀 (turns out they became, and still are a creative dynamic duo, thank you, Ray) 😀

Couple of years down the road I take lady friend to a show. She is on another staff. I hang out and watch the show, since I am there. I see that group again, the one I left in top 5 position, looking worse than the first time I saw them. All new management and staff. I come back on staff the following season, bring East/West coast friend and a few other quality people and we turn the program around (plus there were a couple guys already there, highest of quality educators, that had kept the program from completely crashing). When our season ended last year, top 4 nationally 😀

Lady friend had been working with a band while completing her education. (As an aside, I remember talking with her before she interviewed for that position. She asked me what she should do if she didn’t get it. I told they would be stupid not to hire her and if they didn’t, she didn’t want to work there anyway) She’s now a director with her own band, and grew her programs so large, she had less and less time to spend with the other band. She brought in East/West coast friend to help her out, but had to eventually completely resign as she did not have the time anymore.

I don’t know which one or both suggested to the director that I come on to help the band. Either way, the director interviewed me, watched me work with the students and here/there I am. Hello Monrovia 😀

My path to Glendora was less complicated. I met this front ensemble instructor through drum corps. We became/are friends and admire each other’s talents and energy. We work together. One of her schools is Glendora. Our Summer gig rehearsed there a couple of times before shows because of logistics (we normally are in Huntington Beach) The director saw the product, liked what he saw visually, from an individual performer and ensemble protocol standpoint. He interviewed me. Done 😀

Several English teachers over the years have said I am the master of the understatement. Inbetween these words is about 10 years and at least 100,000+ miles 😀

Its not about me, its not about you, its about us

Choices, coincidences, fate, serendipity – all colliding in single moments

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

