People are too nice to me :D

Funny. I have said it before. I hate it when people say I am too nice or too good to them πŸ˜€

Ironic πŸ˜€

So I got rear-ended last night. Why do I feel bad? Going down a major street around dusk, I/traffic was going about 35-40mph. I see the drive way I am going to turn into. This point of the street doesn’t have any wiggle room between the lane line and the curb. I look in my rear-view mirror, car behind me is easily a three car lengths away. I give my right turn signal and almost completely made my turn, then, BAM. A split second after contact I take my foot off the brake and am pushed through completing the turn.

I get out to see the damage. Looks superficial, so far; I haven’t had it inspected yet. I fail to immediately notice that passing cars are running over a considerable amount of debris. I am feeling a little shaky and the guy that hit me is visibly shaking. I understand why later after we exchange information, which we did, by the way, by using our phones to take pictures of the standard documents in such situations.

I hear him say it several times, but again, having my filters on very high, trying to stay calm and rational and in my moment, and he says again, β€œmy car is totaled.” I move around to the front of his vehicle, a BMW something something, we had been doing the information exchange behind his car. He was right. It was TOTALED! D: I had almost cleared his car, but at the moment I signaled he must have put his head down and he admitted that his head was still down at the moment of impact. I caught, apparently the weakest point of the right front corner of his car, and it was completely collapsed upon the right front tire; totally un-drivable.

He thanks me, for God knows what reason, and I leave him to figure out what he’s got to do next. I am near home. He lives in Laguna Niguel, obviously working late in the office. He will be fine.

Why do I feel bad?

His insurance called me this afternoon. An exceptionally helpful young lady helps me. She is very clear and thorough about the process I am to begin. I thank her for being so helpful and thorough. She thanks me for being a really good customer and that I made her feel like she did a really good job helping me and had wished her manager had been listing to the call.

πŸ˜€

Why is that so consistent? Guy thanks me for helping him ruin his car and insurance lady thanks me for a random, standard call?

πŸ˜€

Just remembered a story about when I hit a guy and sent him to ER. Not enough time right now πŸ˜€ I will say it was an accident πŸ˜€ Really, it was πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

