First Date

This was me, 15 years ago.

(before first date)

She was sitting at a table outside a Starbucks in the late afternoon of an early Fall day, reading a Psychology textbook and smoking a cigarette (I had quit smoking about a year and a half earlier, go figure), but she was simply breath taking. It had been 5 or 6 years since I had been in a relationship, and I really wasnโ€™t interested in another one, but I figured, what the heck, letโ€™s find out who this person is, if she will talk to me, and if not, the worse she could do was to tell me to F off.

I approached her and stood on the other side of her table a few feet away. I said hello and smiled. After a pause, she looked up at me, stared at me for a moment, expressionless, said hi and turned her face back down into her textbook. Well, no F off. With nothing to lose, I proceeded with a logical question. What school do you go to? It seemed like a 5 minute wait, but it was probably more like 5 seconds, she was most certainly deciding if this was a question she really wanted to answer. Cal Poly, she said without looking up. Hmmm, well at least she answered ๐Ÿ˜€ I went to Cal Poly ๐Ÿ˜€ So I told her that fact and that one of the reasons I went there was because my mother went there. No response from her. Quickly I added that another reason was because I liked to see the animals in between classes. No response from her again; strike two. Finally I said another reason I liked the school was because since it sat on a hill it was a good workout getting to and from class every day, so if I wasnโ€™t able to make it to the gym later I wouldnโ€™t feel so bad. She stopped reading and sat up in her chair. Bingo! (I thought) ๐Ÿ˜€ Her expression didnโ€™t change, but at least she looked up, then she smiled briefly but then turned her head back down again into her textbook. But, No F off still! ๐Ÿ˜€

I pulled out the chair from across from her and sat down. I donโ€™t remember the rest of the conversation other than she eventually closed her book and we actually had a pleasant conversation. She had recently moved out of her parents house, she was a part time student, and a part time model. After about 30 minutes or so I was feeling like this had turned out better than I could have believed. That’s when she COMEPLETELY surprised me. It was a Tuesday or Wednesday and she asked me what I was doing that coming Friday afternoon? I my pulse raced and suddenly I was without words. I paused a moment, thinking these next few moments were going to make or break me. Nothing in particular, I said, why do you ask? She asked me if I would like to have dinner with her. I paused again, taking long and slow steady breaths, studying her. She was staring at me with Mona Lisa smile, not blinking. ย We had had a great conversation but she had been quite emotionless, almost clinical (something I would come to understand later) I did get a couple of smiles and a few laughs out of her, but for the most part her expression and the conversation and topics were very serious, mostly about school and life in general. I sensed she had enjoyed our chat, but she was articulate, very smart, and stunningly beautiful. Her choices for dinner companionship were endless, I imagined. ย An invitation to dinner from her to me caught me completely off guard. After thinking a moment I thought, sure, why not ๐Ÿ˜€

First Date

Not one to be anything but myself I figured I might as well let her know what kind of person I am right away. We met at a restaurant near the Starbucks we had originally met at. Donโ€™t remember the name. I do remember we sat in a booth and the seats were leather ๐Ÿ˜€ We had some conversation and I was glad that she started by saying she had never asked a guy out before but she had really enjoyed our conversation a few days earlier and wanted to get to know me better. The waitress left us with menus and took our drink orders. It was a cool evening and we both ordered coffee and water. The waitress quickly returned with our drinks and cream, and a little container of sweeteners. I thanked her and I quickly took a sugar pack, lined it up in front of me and flicked it across the table and caught the edge of her arm with it. Her expression was a mix of shock, anger, and incredulousness ๐Ÿ˜€ I grabbed another sugar pack and repeated. Nailed her again! ๐Ÿ˜€ Her expression intensified and before I could get a third sugar pack, she grabbed the container with the sugars/sweeteners and put it next to her on the booth seat, with some vigor ๐Ÿ˜€ and I quite unhappy expression. We sat in silence for a few moments, her looking away from me mostly, but glancing at me occasionally. I did the same, not knowing if or when she would recover. After a while her expression softened somewhat into a hard quizzical look, and I could see she was still processing what happened and what to make of it ๐Ÿ˜€ That is when thought to kick it up a notch. Quickly, I took my straw for the water, tore the end off of the wrapping and blew the rest of the wrapper at her, catching the corner of her forehead. BAM! ๐Ÿ˜€ Her shocked, angry expression returned, but she quickly got her straw and did the same to me. I saw it coming and ducked so her paper missile missed me but then it hit the lady sitting behind us in the back of the head ๐Ÿ˜€ Not sure exactly what had struck her, the lady turned around quizzically, looked at us, and then turned back around ๐Ÿ˜€ My date was now shocked with herself; had her mouth agape, hand covering it, but then burst out into hysterical laughter. She had never done anything like that before, she told me, ever ๐Ÿ˜€

The rest of the evening was filled with lots more laughter and smiles. No other objects flew through the air, however, and in the end we made plans to meet again the following weekend.

And so went the next couple of years ๐Ÿ˜€

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Date

  1. Pingback: First Date: Part 2, the Breakup | raymondarthur's Blog

Leave a Reply

