#HIGHLY INAPPROPRIATE MATERIAL — #NSFW — STOP NOW!!!

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!! LAST CHANCE!!!

Teehee, not really

Just looking to see who will look. Monday’s post got moderate traffic. Tuesday’s post was hardly viewed at all. No bueno

I was searching the other day to find a girl’s name that I had toured with as a member of a drum corps. I ran across other posts that had some interesting things, to me anyways. Thought I would pull some of those out and comment 😀

“Tuesday August 3rd 2004 Arvada, CO
12:25AM Just ran into Jeff. He asked me how I am doing. I said I am SO ready to not be here anymore, I am DONE with everyone and bad attitudes. Jeff says the kids need me to be here. I said that’s too bad, I gave and I gave and it wasn’t enough; I don’t care anymore what happens. 12:40AM and consistent people are still up. Lights were out at 12AM I must have been….oh never mind; nothing is important anymore.”

Some of you could totally see/hear me saying that. I am all about the schedules being respected. There were lots of details that no one seemed interested in following, staff and members. And you know, if you are going to MAX IT OUT, it’s ALL about the details 😀

We were not a very cohesive staff. We had a few very strong instructors but poor coordination. Jeff at this point was a tuba tech. He was still Jeff and all of his superpower capabilities were available, but we actually had a tour director who was quite proficient. Also, if you know the context of this quote we also had Charlie, Dan Z., Ike Jackson, and Caleb Rothe on staff on the road too. Not a light weight staff. Just not very smart all the time with the details. It was Caleb’s first drum corps tour as staff and Ike’s 2nd, plus both of them were like, 25

And there was me! 😀

It was only my second year on staff and my title was visual tech, but of course I was much more. All season I wrapped up the rehearsals. I would go to all caption heads, mine too, if he was still there, get their input and send the kids off with a cohesive message. What exactly happened at this point to get me here was a combination of things.

We had a great group of kids. Very smart, very talented. We, staff, pissed away rehearsal time, and were not the most efficient when we did rehearse during finals week. Combination of reasons for that. The corps ended up 5th, I believe. Broke 90 a couple of times. They could have medaled had staff done a better job. Lessons learned.

“August 2nd 2003 Valdosta, GA Saturday
When the school gym was opened for us and the lights were turned on, the entire lobby was COVERED with cockroaches TOUR! YES!!!! (be careful what you ask for) I stomped on at least a dozen The staff room has some awesome air conditioning. The gym has these huge fans that could fly a small plane. Kids went down and Charlie and I painted a grid, right before a torrential down pour! It’s cool, we are using oil based paint; most of it should last. I think I will take a nap now.”

Hahahahaha, sometimes, it is just going to SUCK! 😀

So yeah, tour. Bunch of kids I have been working with the past few years have wanted to go on one and last summer we went!, and the first few days KICKED THEIR ASSES 😀

That was my 10th tour as a member/staff person, and other ones were way longer and SUCKED way more, conditions-wise. The experience and the performances were priceless, but they will come at a cost. Something the members may or may not be aware of, they say/complain they are not getting enough sleep. Staff gets less sleep than they do. While they sleep, we have to make sure stuff gets done, planning, scheduling, preparing, etc. Notice the last sentence. I in particular don’t sleep; I nap, always ready to go!

“July 28th 1987 Tuesday Bettendorf, IA
We’ve had too many two meal days lately. I am sorry, fruit – PB & J – crackers – kool aid is not a meal. Not for what we are asking our bodies to do. I am stressing REAL BAD!! OMG WOW!!! Roxanne just came by and gave me a kiss I really like you too!!! She is good for my health”

It happens, for whatever reasons, logistics more often than not. Food truck breakdowns, shows/travel distances impact decision making. Would you rather eat or get to the show on time? Pack snacks. Some of you may or may not have noticed, I had an entire duffel bag PACKED with snacks. Some of you may or may not have noticed I never bought anything at the truck stops because I WAS PREPARED!!! 😀 Notice the prices at those truck stops, they GOT YOU. Plan, shop with friends before tour at Sam’s, Costco, Smart and Final. SAVE!!! 😀

And look out for each other. A hug here and there goes a long way 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

