Tour, Love, Control, Beauty, Death :D

Tour; I don’t know what it is, but in most cases it makes a person a better everything. A lot does depend on the staff, but a lot of individual responsibility makes it happen too. That’s what it is, you have to step up as a person, every day, all day. That is intense 😀

Get on a bus, travel all night, get somewhere at 3 or 4 in the morning. Get off bus, get sleeping bag rolled out. Nap. Get up stretch/run, etc. Eat. Rehearse. Eat. Rehearse. Head to show or get back on road. Do a show, or keep rolling. Repeat for X number of days 😀

The first couple of days are always rough. I had forgotten that. It is not acceptable though, when it is time to move, you move. The quicker they adjust to the physical and mental challenges, the sooner they start getting better again. The longer they are on the road, the better they will get 😀

A few years ago an instructor, who no longer works beside me, said, “the more they rehearse, the better they will get.” Really?! Wow, sure glad he clued me in. Yes, rehearsal helps, but doing that on the road, rather than waking up in a comfy bed and returning to a comfy bed , is better 😀 Ha, just one more quote in regards to giving the kids half a day to wash clothes (we were on a 3 week tour) “They will have a suitcase of clean clothes, and a lifetime of regret.” Ha, some people you just want to punch 😀

One of my favorite quotes the third day of our 8 day tour last season was. “the more they take away from us, the better we get.” I was talking with someone the other day about my best summer as a performer. It was when the tour conditions were the worst of my 5 years. I used all the negatives as an opportunity to focus on what I could control; my performance.

If if’s and buts were candy and nuts, we’d all have a Merry Christmas! 😀

I know it’s not even close to Thanksgiving. That quote just popped into my head because of what I was talking about. Most of the time we are not really in control of what is going on around us. We like to like so, but when you think about it, we really aren’t. No being in control, for a lot of people is an uncomfortable feeling, so we lie to ourselves 😀 Then when things get really screwy around us, or somewhere else in the world, everyone freaks out. Really?!

Ever heard of free will, or just there’s piles of CRAZY and SUCK out there? Yeah, anyways 😀

That is the beauty of any art form, either individually or with others. It is just you communicating something that goes beyond words and emotions. It’s personal; it’s intangible; it’s magic. You can take a video of it, if it is a performance, but it is not the same.

I have performed shows with others that were amazing experiences for us as performers and for the audience. When I have seen some of those performances on video, from a technical execution standpoint, dirt city 😀 It was the emotional intensity that the video couldn’t capture that made that performance special 😀

Some Stanford Professor died the other day hiking. He was 55, that’s only 8 years for me from now. Interesting thought 😀 When I die, I hope people have something better to do than stare at a box with cold flesh. Oh yeah! I am doing the Viking funeral! 😀 That might be cool to see 😀

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

