Death, Life, God

Okay, finally got around to it

Why I should be dead, Version 4.0 (I think, lost track, actually) ๐Ÿ˜€

Sad to say, donโ€™t recall what surgery # it was. It was winter 2006 so I had just crossed double digits recently. I wasnโ€™t supposed to go back to work until late Spring 2006, but it was my first year as yearbook advisor, plus I had been picked (6 teachers out of over 200 applicants) to help start a new summer school program for students who were identified as potential, and in some cases already were, dropouts.

These students had severe truancy problems, substance abuse problems, homeless, undiagnosed learning or social/emotional/mental issues, pregnant or a combination

Great group of kids ๐Ÿ˜€ seriously, Loved working that summer school the three years I did. Back to me ๐Ÿ˜€

So like I said, yearbook, if you didnโ€™t know, has to go to the publisher around the first week of March. My return was not scheduled until late April/early May. Plus I needed time to prep and plan for the summer program as it was new for everyone and no one wanted to A) fail these kids, who had ample experience with failure, and B) fall on our faces ๐Ÿ˜€

I did what any crazy, blindly dedicated teacher would do. I returned to work early ๐Ÿ˜€

I donโ€™t remember how quickly the stiches opened up, but I soon learned that a few layers of gauze and some tape changed every few hours would manage the situation ๐Ÿ˜€

Yearbook got done. Summer school was a huge success ๐Ÿ˜€

Depending on the amount of activity, I would sometimes have to change the bandage every hour. Sometimes I could go 3 or so hours before a bandage change. Sometimes I would forget to check and ruin a shirt and tie. Oh well, too bad so sad ๐Ÿ˜€

In the fall of 2006 getting through the day started getting rough ๐Ÿ˜€

I learned later that a body my size should have approximately 6 liters of blood

The principal called me to her office one morning, told me to see the doctor, call her when they admit me; if not, she would call my mom

So I did. Found out my tank was running at 3+ liters of blood

That week in ICU was interesting. More than a few people that ended in ICU that week left with a sheet covering their face

I donโ€™t remember pain or discomfort as I ran my tank low. I remember focus and getting stuff done ๐Ÿ˜€ and drinking LOTS of water and sports drinks ๐Ÿ˜€

I knew at some point I needed to address the issue. I think besides my principal, my assistants ( I had three at the time ) were really getting worried about me, and I assured them I would be seeing the doctor soon. I just wanted to make sure the year got started right and that expectations and consequences, good and otherwise were clear and consistent ๐Ÿ˜€

Obviously, I didnโ€™t die. Should I have?, maybe. Do I push my limits?, constantly ๐Ÿ˜€

Like I said in a previous post, God doesnโ€™t let Stupid ruin His plan ๐Ÿ˜€

I serve, support, nurture, encourage, inspire, bring light to others with all my heart, all my soul, and all my energy. It is what I am built and programmed genetically to do.

I was going to buy an alarm clock today, since my phone is still KAPUT ๐Ÿ˜€ But I get up at 5:30AM-6AM everyday regardless. It is what I have done for so long ๐Ÿ˜€

Got a flat on a bike ride yesterday. Fixed it this morning. Should be good to go later ๐Ÿ˜€

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

