BCS Championship Game 2014 Florida State vs. Auburn

I was thinking about this after the fact. Being a life-long resident of LA County; I had never been to the Rose Bowl. I have been to the stadium for different events, UCLA games, concerts, etc. but I had never been to the Rose Bowl Game and now here I am at the Rose Bowl again 5 days after my first Rose Bowl to see the last of the BCS Championships Game ๐Ÿ˜€

I was expecting a completely different, but very similar experience. Wasnโ€™t always thrilled that that turned out to be the case.

Started my day heading to Anaheim and the Lopez Clan ๐Ÿ˜€ My house is about the same distance from either Pasadena or Fullerton but I drive to be with Carol and Tom and the gang for several reasons. We are going to participate in an event so I want that experience to be as shared as possible ๐Ÿ˜€ Second, they are awesome people. Third, I really like to drive, gives me more of a chance to think about things ๐Ÿ˜€

I am running a little late (I was 15 minutes late) because I didnโ€™t adequately plan for 8AM morning traffic. I get there and we get going ๐Ÿ˜€

We meet this time at Carlโ€™s across from PCC because the shuttle buses will be leaving from PCC not JPL like the Rose Bowl. We are at Carlโ€™s to gather more of the gang. I ordered an extra OJ and a large hash brown nuggets in case Jasper or someone hasnโ€™t eaten breakfast. Jasper ate, so Mark took the OJ. Soon we are all on our way.

Oh!, and everyone used the appropriate restrooms! heeheeheehee

Get to PCC, get to the Shuttle Buses. Already things are a little different. A girl is standing where people are boarding and she has a clicker and is counting the bodies boarding the busses. That had me a little worried. I asked her why she was doing that. She said, guessed it was to better plan for the next similar event. I think it was in case of a massive earthquake to know how many bodies to look for in the rubble ๐Ÿ˜€ Also different, no one could stand in the bus for the ride to the Bowl; all had to be seated. wtf

We get to the Bowl and you can see many more event staff and contracted security. That was another thing, for the Rose Bowl Carol was able to get our wristbands and we could put them on ourselves. Here we had security put on our wristbands and that was after they gave us a once over twice

Didnโ€™t see my Monrovia peeps. I donโ€™t remember seeing any posts; donโ€™t think they worked this event. They work Rose Bowl events throughout the year ๐Ÿ˜€

Once inside most of us had worked the Rose Bowl and we got right to work. There was a significant larger amount of product awaiting us. First thing I told my people; Coorโ€™s Light across the entire bottom of every cooler. At the Rose Bowl, we had trouble keeping up at one point as it seemed as though nobody wanted anything else but Coorโ€™s. That turned out to be a good idea later; go figure ๐Ÿ˜€

At a cetain point after we were ready for sales for the Rose Bowl, there seemed to be a steadily increasing flow of people and when we were open to sell, the people traffic continued to increase. Championship Game, not so much to the point that I was really concerned that our sales might even decrease

Boy, was I wrong ๐Ÿ˜€

Basically what ended up happening was an hour before kick off, we got hit with a tsunami of people. I said in a FB post yesterday; southerners drink hard and fast! On more than one occasion, women who were buying the white wine said they were doing so because we weren’t selling shots ๐Ÿ˜€ Good thing we ran out of white wine when we did. A few women definitely did not need anymore

And oh, by the way, both schoolsโ€™ fans tipped very well. We earned twice the tips that we earned for the Rose Bowl on about 1/3 increase in sales ๐Ÿ˜€

Jasper asked me a question that he didnโ€™t ask during the Rose Bowl. Although we were obviously not inside the stadium, you could follow the game from them stadium announcersโ€™ comments and just from the roar of the crowd. If the roar was close, that was a good play for Florida State as we were very close to there section in the stands. If the roar was from mostly the other side of the stadium, that was a good play for Auburn. Jasper asked if that what it was like at DCI finals, the sound of the crowd. Yes, I said ๐Ÿ˜€

So lucky to have been on a field performing and knowing that sound very well ๐Ÿ˜€

Jayme and Les worked this event too and Jayme brought tamales. They were very good! Thank you Jayme ๐Ÿ˜€

People watching ๐Ÿ˜€ I have to say it was an exceptional day for both genders ๐Ÿ˜€ Both sides dressed a little nicer and accessorized more than the Rose Bowl crowd too. I know I stepped on Jasper’s complimenting the beautiful women a couple of times, sorry Jasper ๐Ÿ˜€ He was putting out a stronger more consistent effort with the compliments than he did in the Rose Bowl. Good for him ๐Ÿ˜€

So, forgot to mention earlier about the women drinking the 25oz beers(all the beers were 25oz) and them having insulated sleeves designed for 12oz beers. Many times they asked for help getting these huge cylinders into these under-sized sleeves ๐Ÿ˜€ Many appropriate, suggestive comments were made during these efforts by the women! ๐Ÿ˜€ We never failed! We were definately into providing full service *wink* ๐Ÿ˜€

I know for myself the phrase, “you’re a very beautiful woman,” seemed to be flowing as quickly and easily as the alcohol on this particular night ๐Ÿ˜€

All in all both events were exciting and definitely unique experiences that I feel very fortunate to have been able to participate in. Great games too!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

