Figure it out, Don’t Suck, Max your Gig, Live Joyfully

At the age of 17 I was indoctrinated into three simple concepts that have guided me through life.

Figure it out Look around. Be aware. Notice what is happening around you; notice what is not happening around you. See who is near, far, or not there. What should you be doing in this moment. Are you, were you fully prepared? Why or why not. What is happening next? Will this moment repeat or a moment like it repeat? How will you respond.

We can’t always know what will happen, when and how; but we CAN prepare ourselves physically, mentally, and emotionally for anything, any situation. Apply yourself to a consistent conditioning/strength routine, mentally challenge yourself to push passed physical limits (so there are no limits) and realize everything is possible in this world, both the best and the worst

Don’t Suck Knowing what you know now, don’t suck. It’s really that simple, especially when you consistently apply the third concept

Max Your Gig You know when you are giving your best effort and you know when you are not giving your best effort. When you are not giving your best effort, you suck

Don’t suck πŸ˜€

Yes it is difficult to be “on” all the time, but that is it. If you are not sleeping or dead, and sometimes you have to be “on” even when you’re sleeping, you are “on stage.”

Don’t suck πŸ˜€

You have to perform. You have to execute. People are counting on you; Max your gig. Challenge yourself to always give your best effort. IT FEELS GREAT!!! Trust me, it does. Is it physically, mentally, and emotionally draining at times? Absolutely; I’d be lying if I said otherwise. But, you know what?, IT FEELS GREAT!!! πŸ˜€

The Live Joyfully is a concept I started consistently applying to my life since my second block of student teaching πŸ˜€

I have had the good fortune of having great teachers in my life, through out. From kindergarten through high school, college, drum corps, and co-workers; I have learned lessons great and small from them all and carry pieces of their passion and wisdom with me every day πŸ˜€

Those that consistently displayed/display their passion for teaching did so/do so with a contagious joy.

The lessons I learned best came from teachers that did what they did with a genuine joy and passion. Since 1990, I have committed myself to return to others what has been so generously shared with me πŸ˜€

And…

I am always looking for ways to be better πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

