SCPA – Aliso Niguel

Get there, make my way to the gym. As I approach I see an important looking guy passing by the side of the gym πŸ˜€

Exactly who I am looking for

He sees me, greets me very warmly. Introduces me to another drum corps guy (they were everywhere today!) Me and new friend chat briefly while our important friend attends to another matter.

He soon returns and shows us to a cage where a portable sound system is. We are to roll it out to the gym and set it up. We do that then he takes us to the other side of the gym

We are shown the performer entrance and exit and how they are to be managed. Student volunteers start showing up at this point and us two adults are split with a couple of students

My student is a senior at El Toro. She plays flute and marimba. I tried recruiting her but she says she can’t do the mouthpiece thing, and she has tried πŸ™‚

I believe her. She is interested in Impulse. Her current pit instructor is an Impulse alum, her former pit instructor was Impulse staff. I invited her to come to the music block at 1 at Marina HS on the 23rd πŸ˜€

We had a good 20 – 25 minute chat. Her current pit instructor passed by us, he said something to her and kept going. I thought he didn’t recognize me, it has been 10 years, and he only did one year. When he passed by the 2nd time, she stopped him and asked him if he recognized me. Of course, he said with a smile πŸ˜€ (He brought us water later in the morning too)

Very cool watching indoor percussion all day. Saw 5 former students working with 2 to 3 lines each. Saw as many people I used to work with doing other groups. Also ran into 3 people I marched with working one part of the event or another πŸ˜€

Then there were the Monrovia, Whittier, Torrance peeps at the show πŸ˜€ Even saw one of the dads that went on tour with us last summer πŸ˜€ chatted with him a bit

During the lunch break is when I ran into Monrovia the first time. Pit saw me first, smiled, waved. Isaac came by; Josh (quads) came and said hi. Between shows after their performance Devin came over to my station by the performer entrance and we talked some. That was cool. Before I left the show I gave Andrew a rice Krispy treat; Emily didn’t want anything πŸ˜€

Whittier people I saw before their show and after they sat in the bleachers near me πŸ˜€ Torrance people I only saw before their show

I talked with a few random parents from other schools throughout the day, checking how their experience was going. They were all having a great time πŸ˜€

I had a great time. Beyond everything else, I know what it takes to make each of those performances happen and for that event to happen. I really appreciated all the efforts by the students, the parents, the staffs, and the administrative support.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

