The Holy Spirit is with Me :)

I was taught to pray as soon as I was able to speak πŸ™‚ We only prayed individually, but growing up my parents would speak to me in prayer-like talk when trying to teach me some life lesson

We rarely went to church when I was a child. If we did, it was some event or a religious holiday πŸ™‚ but God, the concept of an omnipresent force, was part of my daily life growing up, as was prayer

I was taught what you say and do affects and effects other people and that God is always watching you πŸ™‚ My parents were always excellent examples of kindness and generosity. They had Holy Spirits that seemed to drive them and I can recall a few occasions where they were having an inner dialogue because they wanted to say or do something that went against The Spirit

When we did go to church, it was Catholic. I was baptized but not confirmed. When my sister had twins she asked me to be a Godparent. When that ceremony occurred the level of ritual overwhelmed me as did the concept of my niece coming to me and asking questions about Faith and Religion

I was nearing the end of my college education so like a student I contacted the local Catholic Church to see if they had classes where I could learn about Catholicism

Of course they did! πŸ™‚

After a few months of once a week evening classes the director calls me for a meeting. At the meeting she asks me if I would like to receive the Sacrament of Confirmation πŸ™‚

Sure, why not πŸ™‚

Some months later as we approach Holy Week the director calls me in for another meeting. Her question is would I like, after confirmation, to become part of the religious education team at that church πŸ˜€

The woman was obviously loco πŸ™‚

Yes, I said

That summer I took classes at Loyola Marymount and earned a catechist certificate

After teaching adults about Catholicism for 3 years the director retired. In the flux I joined the church choir. After a couple of months, one of the choir members suggested I try out for the LA Cathedral Choir. I did, and I earned a spot in the tenor section πŸ™‚

After about four years I stop singing with the church choir but continue with the cathedral choir for another couple of years. I was only going to church when I had a “gig” like the deacon or priest ordinations, doing concerts with composers of Christian music, or pastoral musician conference presentations πŸ˜€

I stop attending church because I grew up knowing my conversation with God and the Spirit is not based on what building I am in or near and that my beliefs and actions speak loudly about what I believe πŸ™‚

I did hang out with Methodists for about a year and sang in their choir, but that was so I could hang out with a chick in the choir a couple of times a week πŸ™‚ I really liked those people

Organized religion is a good thing and a bad thing, just like anything else. I probably should have become a formal minister, but am happy with all the informal ministry opportunities I get πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

