2014 Impulse Taft Camp – Friday Night

Got to the pick up site in South El Monte

There were applause πŸ˜€

Yup, me and Lady Gaga πŸ™‚

Actually made me feel good and not so good. I’m complicated like that.

Gave Jayme the books and forms and went outside to make stuff happen πŸ™‚

No instructional staff just the Ray Show. I go talk to drivers, get names, talk routes. Smart kids help me get the other kids going. First time on charter buses this season πŸ˜€ Answering rookie parent questions, shaking hands and hugs with other parents πŸ™‚

Vince shows up. Gives me a boom box for guard. We talk drill, show, rehearsal goals, staffing πŸ˜€

Henry and Zach helped me get my stuff out of my van and on to the bus πŸ™‚

More parent handshakes and hugs πŸ˜€

Getting close to pulling out

*snap*

Get books and paperwork from Jayme, check horn/guard bus, get on percussion bus ready to go … hey Ray, bass 4 is 20 minutes away

Sigh. Talk with my driver (lead) He’s cool with the wait πŸ™‚

Hey kids, ice cream truck, 20 minutes, GO!!!

15 minutes later Bass 4 shows up. Hey kids in line, too bad so sad

On the road. Wait?! Were not stopping?!

No, we are not stopping

Kids, frowny pouty faces

I know I specifically told them. You get on a bus, pack snacks!

Battery pecking on pads. So cool how 5 or 6 of them make it sound like ten πŸ™‚

Pit are playing games πŸ˜€

Update after lights out during RayRay time! πŸ™‚

Move in went well. Zach swept buses. I tipped the drivers, signed off on paperwork. Maribel read my post about not stopping for food on the way and had snacks set up πŸ™‚

Interesting watching the social relationship develop. Finally got smart and had drummers stop pecking 15 before lights out, and they did! Also had boys and girls back to their appropriate sides at that time too πŸ™‚

Then Ray had a heck of time figuring out which switches turned off what lights πŸ˜›

But before that, great news! The boys and the girls will sharing one set of showers! πŸ™‚

Not like that!

Actually, it’s bad news. Cuts into rehearsal time. Also going to have to figure out how to accommodate the night shower people 😦

I don’t see how we can do it without cutting into sleep time. I’ll sit down with Jeff tomorrow and we’ll figure that out

There are emergency vehicles driving around in circles right now!

Wondering how the equipment and food truck are going to get into the school with the gates locked.

On a positive note, many kids after getting a snack hit their bunks and settled in, and many of them appeared asleep before lights out πŸ˜€ oh yeah, when I finally figured out the whole light switch thing there was a sarcastic cheer πŸ™‚

Whatever

I’m on the field right now πŸ˜€ Where else would Ray be at this time? πŸ™‚ Critters are running around, looks like gophers

Again with the emergency vehicles! What! Taft, you cray! πŸ™‚

Just got back to the gym. All is quiet πŸ˜€ In spite of the schedule problems we face with the shower situation I am optimistic we will meet these challenges, achieve our goals and have a successful camp

Amen

Kids are up at 7:45. I’ll be up at 6:00 πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Impulse Taft Camp – Friday Night

  1. Brittany Mendoza says:

    im so glad your season is starting off well even though it sounds hectic haha good luck and hope to be apart of the experience next summer πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

