2014 Show #1

Woke up and started the day feeling a bit of anxiety. I remember I was up early enough that I walked back and forth doing things around the house very leisurely ๐Ÿ™‚

Got stuff in the van and off I went to West Covina for Brandon. Got there and was somewhat confused to see Kelsi also, but I noticed she had no backpack or horn. Off to Monrovia now.

Dropped Kelsi off at her house and headed to Starbucks. Turned around picked Kelsi back up, and headed back to Glendora.

There was a sizable crowd already there. Kids ready to work, ready to perform, ready for SHOW DAY!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ but no truck, yet

๐Ÿ™‚

Lots of parents and support staff, but I’m the only instructional staff for about the next 30 minutes. I remember visualizing and feeling on Friday what today would be like. None of those imaginary moments are happening, yet

Seems like anyone and everyone who had a question is coming to me

๐Ÿ™‚

Hi Jeff

I’m making sure I am taking long slow breaths. Measuring words before I speak. Smiling at appropriate times but generally keeping a “let’s take care of business” expression

Truck shows up, kids move with a purpose. Equipment is quickly unloaded and off to warmups they go. I get my gear and head to the field ๐Ÿ˜€

I measure the old marks. No more than an inch discrepancy between any of the yard lines so a put fresh paint over them. Show day so the kids are only getting high school and college hashes, and with the extra time I throw down yard line inserts at the sideline and at the hashes ๐Ÿ™‚

Sectional time over. I do some basics with the hornline, working on slides. Battery and pit run a short percussion ensemble. Have everyone walk through their show before we do a run, as it is a well watered field and there are a few quicksand like spots. They set for a run of what tonight’s performance is going to be

They run it

๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Fear, anger, and a variety of other emotions run through my entire heart, soul, and psyche for a half second at the end of that run, then a calm steady pours over me

Reset

We chunk through the show for tonight from back to front, with a little set to set in some cases. They get a little better each time, as has been the case all season. They are smart, talented, process quickly, retain, and apply given information rather consistently. We get to the end of the block, do a run

They are so SHOW READY

As they move off field and load the truck I head back to my van. Soon another handful of parents come to me with questions about this that and the other. I share the information I have and give them my number if they have any further questions

Lunch time. Brandon, Kelsi and now Tracer pile into the van. I don’t care where we eat. They finally decide Red Robin, which is close by. As we head over someone spots Olive Garden, so OG it is!

Not thinking about this until Sunday, we were all a little rehearsal groady ๐Ÿ˜€ and it was about 3pm Saturday, prime family time get dressed and eat nice time. Buwahahahahaha! We went in concernless

Kelsi, Brandon, and Tracer had an interesting conversation. We ate well, we tipped well, I threw bread sticks ๐Ÿ˜€

Now on a mission to Target. Brandon needs underarmor and Kelsi needs black socks. Turns out Tracer didn’t know about the underarmor thing. Kelsi hooked him up ๐Ÿ™‚ items acquired, cept the socks. We head to 99ยข store. At the register, the cashier asks Kelsi if she wants a bag. I tell the cashier, Kelsi lost her mitts and is going to wear the socks on her hands to the car

The cashier laughed

That was not funny! ๐Ÿ˜€ anywhoz…

Heading to show site now. More random conversation. Tracer told Kelsi she’s pretty. That was cute ๐Ÿ˜€ Get to show site they pile out and get into the pre-show routine

I change and head out to grab a warmup zone. Find one and wait ๐Ÿ˜€

Hornline arrives soon, they do a little stretch, I do a little rap, they move the feet, I rap again, more briefly. Now time for them to warm their chops. I head to the battery. Just in time for their last run before ensembling with pit. Afterward Niko said it was the best lot warmup they’ve ever had. It was ๐Ÿ˜€

I go back to the truck. Glendora band director is there (also bass #3s dad) we talk, he helps me move horn stuff that is in the soon to be music ensemble zone. Horns soon arrive. Corps does a run. The feelz are feeling locked. They get the jackets on and go into pre-show section hypes

It’s time to move I grab a speaker and push out leading the pit/corps. Get to the gate and wait. I make one pass through the corps, looking into eyes, high fiving here and there, sharing brief words, feeling the hype ๐Ÿ™‚

Showtime

I push speaker onto field, get wires to the 50. Scan the field front to back, side to side. Pick up a few bits of debris, otherwise all good. Only one set of hashes. Spread the word to all sections, the whites are the blues ๐Ÿ™‚

Get to the sideline, the announcer tonight is my old corps DM my last two years. The H! The Voice of Southern California Pageantry! We chat briefly. Then I feel it

They’ve taken the field and are owning it before even stepping off! First impact comes, BAM!!! Sweet. Second impact, BAM!!!

and so goes the rest of their show that night. Strong, strong finish. So happy, so proud, so excited

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

