2014 Impulse Battery: Part 4

Quads

This guy I only had a few conversations with, but those conversations always turned out to be informative, enlightening, and thought provoking. He very much approaches life with his eyes wide open, hopeful for the best, but prepared if things don’t turn out that way. I appreciated that when we talked and he wasn’t quite sure what I was trying to say he would ask me questions until he understood; and usually what the questions were about was I would express an idea or opinion that conflicted with his thoughts, and he would ask me for evidence to support what I was saying. He always thinks critically.

One of my motivations for writing these thoughts I have about every one from last season is this guy. Several times he told me directly that he wanted me to write about him. I see a lot of myself in this guy when I was his age, but he’s better looking and more talented than I was, but not by much. Drumming and performing is a great outlet for him and allows his mind to focus on that and away from other thoughts that are maybe stressful or anxiety provoking. Actually, the same could be said about many people in the corps regarding music and performing providing a happy and pleasant diversion and distraction from the day to day grind that life can become. I am privileged and honored to be there for all the members of the corps, but I am especially glad I have been there for this guy. I felt that when he would see me he knew that I was there to help and support him unconditionally. That’s a feeling I know he didn’t always have because we talked about that, among other things.

Finally, the man, the myth, the legend. Here’s another guy I feel I have a lot in common with, more so now than when I was his age. He’s a thoughtful, sensitive, caring person that always works hard to do his best and to do it the right way. We’ve had many conversations over the past couple of years and I think we’ve gotten to know each other fairly well. His musicianship and performer levels are outstanding. He leads by example more than with words, but he always has the right thing to say at the right time, and he gets straight to the point. When we get on the road, tour, I’m not the easiest person to approach; that’s how I feel about myself, anyway. I’m glad this guy always felt comfortable to come to me with a question or to just talk or whatever when we were on the road the last couple of years. Sometimes I had the feeling that he knew that was something I needed to get out of the space between my ears and give me that mental break.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

