2015 Impulse: Dec. 14th ’14

Got there, was greeted by the Babas.

Get inside the Marina HS bandroom, the room is full of excitement. Louis and Josh are by the door, and I park myself there. Louie is a new/old guy working with with the brass. Jeff has always been a part of Impulse and Louie was there in the beginning with Jeff, the first few years of the drumcorps. Josh is a new, new guy, but he’s been working with Gold the past few years and decided to switch teams ๐Ÿ™‚

After talking with Mike briefly Josh introduced himself to me officially, ย we’ve never met before and Louie reaches out to shake my hand also. Just a public formality. Louie and I have known each other since we were teens ๐Ÿ˜€

Mike gets in front of the group, delivers some info, then turns it over to me. I send them to the truck to unload and to get equipment. As the kids are filing out of the bandroom, I spot a new mom and call her over so I may chat briefly with her. Of course I do ๐Ÿ˜€

I got out to the parking lot and could see stuff happening at the truck, saw Ruben, called him over, gave him the word and made my way to the benchs/patch of earth and trees in the front lot. Got me some bench, pulled out my notebook and refined my morning plan.

Guard got there first, including Arianna, ย who by God’s Grace was not hit by the car speeding through the parking lot. Horns came next followed soon by the battery. Gave the vets a task and sent them off, giving me time to chat briefly with the rooks. After a few minutes I sent the rooks off on a task and called the vets over.

Soon, we were all together again. The vets had share time with the rooks, and I only interrupted twice. Well, not really interrupt, ย but, any whose…

Tom was there and sensed a transition coming and seized the moment. Carol was there and her time was limited so he asked if it was okay for her to talk to the group about fundraising. YES, PLEASE! Great move on Tom’s part; thankful he and Carol were there, as always ๐Ÿ™‚

When I was ready to block them up and make them move, Vee was like, stretch? Oh yeah, that would be a good idea ๐Ÿ™‚ Guard led the stretch, and while they did that I chatted with the parent starting lineup (Tom, Carol, Maribel, ย Ruben Sr., Byron, and Martha) Ruben was there too. I had him help later.

After they finished stretching, I clumped them informally and gave them an exercise, did some modeling, answered some questions, modeled more, and reset the block. Answered a couple of more clarification questions, then turned them loose on the exercise. Time was up and the block ended. When my time is up, no chat, just go.

It could have been better; it could have been worse. The biggest factor, either way, was me. For the most part, it was as good of an experience as it could have been, with the given variables. I am making a plan to be better next time, I’ve already even written some ideas down ๐Ÿ˜€

Each time, be a little better!

Right?! ๐Ÿ˜

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

