Impulse Hospitality

I got to Milton HotCakes’ house early on Saturday, late afternoon. I wasn’t suppose to be there until 6pm and it was closer to 5:30pm. He and Carol were still at the fundraiser, Β but Tom was there and he let me in. The game was on and we talked some football while he was doing this that and the other around the living room.

Love talking with that guy πŸ™‚

We got talking about other stuff besides sports, when Carol and HotCakes arrived home. I don’t remember if I had this thought at the time, but under slightly different circumstances I would have been fundraising with them πŸ˜€ but it wasn’t, and I didn’t. We all chatted briefly before the most important part of evening was discussed:

DINNER!!!!! πŸ™‚

I forgot the choices, but Tom said something about tacos and I quickly seconded, I didn’t have a preference, really. Β I like food πŸ˜€ more on that later

EVERYONE, except me, HELPED MAKE DINNER. Not a big deal really, but yes. The way they got dinner ready, probably the way it happens more often than not. Soon the taco bar was ensembled on the table. I looked at the pile of freshly fried taco shells and said to myself, challenge accepted! Β πŸ˜€ (for the record, I believe I stopped at 5)

Cleanup went the way of the dinner prep, collaborative, minus me. At this point I went to “my room” to get ready for our movie outting. (I was totally surprised at having a room to spend the night. When I first walked into the house, I spotted a spot between the couches in the living room and claimed it, in my mind.) Getting ready meant putting on a scarf, gloves, and a hoodie πŸ™‚

We piled in the ride and off we went. Tom is a very good driver, not that many drivers ever make me uncomfortable. The rain that had begun earlier was present still, but was now reduced to an intermittent drizzle. We were soon at the theater parking. Tom dropped off Carol, me, and HotCakes, and the three of us proceeded. Tom was soon with Carol at the ticket window, while I perused a short series of steps and pondered my immediate future. Carol and the gang soon joined me at the base of said steps and asked if I would rather use the ramp on the other side…

YES πŸ˜€

We made our way to our seats, and I maneuvered those steps with little difficulty. Movie: Night at the Museum. LOVED IT. They sort of set the story to continue without Ben Stiller, but we’ll see πŸ˜€

Oh yeah, food conversation πŸ™‚ I dont remember if it was on the way over or the way back from the movie, but Carol was talking about her cooking “experiments” that come out rather tasty. My comment on that and about cooking in general, when it is made with love, it always tastes good! True, not true, but it is. Love makes good food.

We got back and Tom got on his computer and shared a series of songs EVERYONE should know. Good times πŸ˜€ We all talked a little more then it was off to bed.

Me and HotCakes had a staff meeting at 8 in the AM Sunday morning at Harbor House. We didnt talk about a wakeup time or a depart time, but in the world of FIGURE IT OUT, as I opened the bedroom door Sunday morning, ready to leave, Milton was literally walking by at that same time ready to go. Serendipity.

I didn’t get a chance to call my ride home in time after the workshop on Sunday. Maribel, Ruben, and the girls were bringing the meatballs to Carol and Tom’s for an encore (Carol was making pasta to go with) As everyone had just settled in, dinner was about to be served when the door bell rang 😦 It was for me. Very much disliked having to leave a house full of people who I love very much. But I had made prior arrangements and couldn’t stop the horse in midstream.

I enjoyed the past couple of days tremendously and warned Carol and Tom to be ready for me to stay over again soon πŸ˜€

Family

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

