2015 Impulse: Tour, be prepared!

This might happen, let’s hope not, but it might.

Several years ago, several, several years ago, on another Impulse Tour. This happened…

Between Cerritos, CA and Flagstaff, AZ, my bus ran out of gas. We had been scheduled to arrive in Flagstaff around 2:30AM-3AM. I say my bus, because we had 2 tour buses, 2 semi-trailers, and 2 support vehicles. Only my bus FAILED to have enough fuel to make it to the next scheduled fuel stop.

Best thing you, members, you can do while we sit ANYWHERE for ANY LENGTH OF TIME is LISTEN TO ME AND FOLLOW DIRECTIONS.

Some of the details we were all dealing with at that point in time on the side of I40: I could tell by the highway mile marker and my map, we were only a few miles from the next fuel station. That, plus the additional facts that it was pitch black and flat in the desert, I could see the lights from the signage of the station. After contacting a person working at the fuel station, I was given the wait time of about 1 hour until help would arrive. After being on the road all night, it was around 1AM, and we were a little more than 1 hour from our destination.

One hour of waiting turned into two hours, turned into 3 hours. It’s now past 4AM. At some point during that first hour of waiting, some kids stayed on the bus, sleeping or talking. Some got off the bus, pulled out their sleeping bags and crashed in the desert near the bus. AGAINST MY ADVICE, a few started wandering into the desert. Picking my battles on the first day of a three week tour, I made a decision to focus my attention on those following directions, called other staff furthur down the road, and made itinerant plans for holes in the show.

How did this happen? How does a tour bus run out of fuel on the first day of a three week tour?

At the initial fuel stop, before leaving California, only the trucks and other vehicles fueled, not the buses. I looked at my bus’s fuel gauge and suggested to the driver he should get some fuel before we departed. He said we were fine, we had plenty of fuel. We would make it to the next designated fuel stop, he said: No problem.

Another staff member who was present for that conversation I had with my bus driver, and who called me as he passed my bus as it sat on the side of the road in the Arizona desert, asked me, when I told him we stopped because we were out of fuel, if I had gone off on the bus driver for not listening to me.

No, no I didn’t. As angry as I was at the situation, venting on my driver day one of a twenty-one day tour would do no one any good.

Back to I40. It’s all about the wait. Apparently whoever the service station guy was calling to come and help us don’t like answering their phone in the middle of the night, or they were in no particular hurry to help us. They get paid the same whether they get here at 2AM or 3AM or 7AM.

The kids that didnt listen and wandered into the desert soon came RUNNING back 😀 Ha! 😛 I told them not to go wander in the desert, because, among other things, DESERT CRITTERS. Yes, there ARE critters out there. HAHAHAHAHA!!!

Help finally arrived just after 4AM. About 30 minutes later we were on the road, again.

Tour:
Be prepared
Be ready to follow directions
Be ready for schedule changes
Be ready for all manner, shape, and size of BS
Try your BEST to be POSITIVE
…and always…

BE READY TO PERFORM!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

