2016 Impulse National Tour Part 7:

August 4 Swanton Ohio Thursday

Brooke just got here. She and Big Ruben were picked by Bob and Mike at the airport. They are just getting out of the van now. Everyone is still sleeping. I’ve been up for hours 🙂 Vampires need no sleep, we’re already dead 😛 This town seems to have only one of everything, including only one traffic signal, hanging horizontally in an intersection, suspended by two wires. Means that laundromat a couple of blocks away is where we’re probably washing. Gonna get my stuff and head over there before anyone wakes up.

Got my stuff ready, but changed my mind about flying solo. I should probably wait her Bob and Mike to come back and find out what the schedule is. All Maribel knows right now is that breakfast will be an hour and a half off from the schedule Bob gave her yesterday. Our travel time took longer than was planned. I’ve walked around the park and the showers we’d planned on using are apparently being serviced and won’t be available today. Ha. Perfect . We’ll get showers tonight when we get to a real housing site. Today we’re at a park. I think this is park number three. Basically one third of tour, so far, has been a park, and no showers. 

Trevor just woke up. What the fuck is the schedule, Ray? I dunno, but I’m guessing eat, laundry, eat, rehearse, dunno after that. Eat probably then off to Pennsylvania. 

God, why do you want me here? I know why. The devil doesn’t want me either. I sold him my soul for rock n roll when I was younger, but he rejected it after awhile too. God found it on a clearance rack but only bought it back when the devil threw in an Ipad and an eternity of free WiFi.

Wanna put my tender heart in a blender

Watch it spin around to a beautiful oblivion

Rendezvous and I’m through with you

I’m remarkably consistent . I’d rather not think or feel than deal with the hole in my chest where my heart used to be.

Redacted: something about nail polish and makeup. 🙂

Laundry block was awesome! Thr kids were amazing. The owner lady said she’s never seen so many polite young people,  cleaning up after themselves, helping each other, just overall great manners and respectful. The ice cream shop had many, many food options!!!! Lots of money was dropped today in that place. They can probably close the next 3 months, and live off the profits from today. Trumpet Josh didn’t have enough money for a shake so I bought him a shake. Randy had already had ice cream so I only got him a drink.

Bacon wrapped hot dogs for lunch. Communication breakdown. Bob wants a tighter transition between the ballad and percussion feature, having the tubas hold their note until the down beat of the timpani entrance. No big.  Got it . We’ll start with that at the top of ensemble time.

Ensemble was sucky, sloppy drum corps. Seems like were all spending what ever energy we have just holding ourselves together. I am so ready to go off and shred people, but what good would that do? I can’t want this gig to be anymore than what they want. It is what it is? I dunno. I need to take a walk and get away for awhile.

Wow. I know how to steer a ship, but I can’t corral a bunch of rafts floundering in a choppy sea. I am completely useless. Wah, wah, wah. Somebody call the wahmbulance. It seems like we’re doing everything we can to inhibit, restrict, and undermine the corps ability to achieve and thrive. I need to get off this emotional roller coaster I’ve created. 

Color guard battery flirt time 🙂 ❤ ok kids, get on the bus 😀

I need to get over myself. This organization has not planned, prepared, and implemented a course to reach the top 12, let alone finals, this season. That was a goal many of us had originally, but then we swerved violently off course long ago and now we’re all in survival mode. But I still could have been doing a better job along the way, I saw the signs of how far we were getting off track. I need to stay focused on the here and now, keep the gig moving forward,  and keep my attitude in check. 

Off to PA!!! Yay? 🙂 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

