Stranger Danger!

Twice in the last week toddlers have followed me.

The first time, I was leaving the dog park. Adjacent to the dog park is a regular park.

I saw and stopped to watch a young mother walking with her child as he explored. He wandered in my direction, not aware of me, until he was a few feet away.

He straightened up and stared at me. I waved and said hello. He waved back, and he was a babbler, and he babbled at me. I agreed with him, so he continued.

After a few moments I thanked him for the conversation and proceeded with my dog towards my car.

He followed.

His mother called and called him, but the toddler continued following me.

I stopped several times, urging him to go with Mama, to no avail. (Thankfully Mom was amused)

It wasn’t until I reached my car, opened the door, and he tried climbing did his mother pick him up at that point.

Second time, I was sitting at a Cafe with outdoor seating. Another young mother with a toddler were walking by. The little girl was babbling away, then she noticed me watching her.

She stopped. I waved and said hello. She waved back, and proudly showed me the napkin in her hand, and the story about how she acquired it, (I think.)

After a few moments of conversation it was time for me to go, so I said thank you and goodbye. The little girl proceeded to follow.

I stopped and encouraged her to go back to her mother, who was following, but as I continued the toddler followed again.

I saw a set of stairs leading to an elevated shopping area. I went up the steps and stopped. When the toddler reached the steps, she tried climbing up.

Thankfully the mother was amused and picked up her child at that point.

I read a story some years ago called bean trees. The main character stops at a convenience store and when she comes back someone had placed a small in her passenger seat.

I imagine if a small child ever follows me home and I can’t find who she or he belongs to, I’ll do my best to take care of that child.

About raymondarthur

Life Coach Inspiration with Straight Talk and Humor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment